Forum > General discussion > Art and Social Media
Pages: 1 2
"Art and Social Media", 12 days ago, 2:00 PM #1
Does anyone feel like social media and art doesn't always mix well? For me personally I have been uploading art on social media and the internet for over 10 years now and I feel like it social media doesn't work well with artist being how it pushes so much for content creation. For example I remember several years ago on instagram it was great to publish your work because all you had to do was tag it and the more tags it had the more it would be exposed to others at that time it was better than Tumblr because it wasn't going to be submerged in a sea of popular blogs. But then later Instagram changed to where your art would only been seen by your followers and others if you constantly posted, so if you took a break or didn't post often your work would submerged in a sea of constant accounts that posted daily.

I feel like the current social media algorithms only makes it more stressful for some artists to come up with material to produce. A while ago you had to constantly produce pieces to have your work shown but now you have to make short videos and etc which takes planning and some time.

Even though me personally I don't like this type of work flow I can understand and respect artists who put in the effort to make their accounts compete with the algorithm. I just wish there were more options for artists to publish their work instead of having to feel like a full time content creator.
12 days ago, 2:07 PM #2
Yeah, I just don't have it in me to make the social media thing work. Even for people who do - the ones who have thousands of followers - it's like...how many of those people really care that much, or equate to actual fans and/or income? It just seems like a lot of stress that doesn't amount to much for many : /
12 days ago, 2:18 PM #3